Wednesday, February 23, 2011

Katie's 1st Baby Shower

Katie was SO EXCITED to go to her first baby shower this past weekend.  My brother in law Greg and my sister in law Belinda, are expecting a baby girl in March.  We are so excited about a new little baby girl!

We walked into the restaurant and Katie told the greeter "I'm going to a baby shower and it's my first one!"  Hilarious.  She sat and talked to everyone, ate her lunch like such a little lady and even helped unwrap a few presents.  At lunch, the waitress brought her a kiddy cup with a straw and she refused to drink out of it!  She wanted to drink out of a glass, like all the other ladies!  Too cute!  Here are some pictures from the event...

all ready to go....


                                                                     at the shower....


                                                          mommy, Katie and Mama Diane


                                                   going to a baby shower is very tiring! 

More Doctor Appointments....

So yesterday I had some more doctor appointments.  I had a meeting with an oncology gynocologist and with the radition oncologist.  Both were very nice doctors, and very long appointments.  Loyola, being a teaching hospital, means that there are residents and students and you have to repeat your story lots of times.  But, I view that as a good thing, as more ears, and more interest in details, makes for better treatment.   The decision is for me to get my ovaries and tubes removed before I start radiation, so I am having that done on March 9th.  Having them removed gives me piece of mind, not having to worry about developing ovarian cancer, and it will save me from having to do some painful injection therapies.  It will be a simple outpatient procedure, and they won't even be making a new scar!  They are going to use one of the scars from my gallbladder surgery and do it all laproscopically.   Cool huh?  I will also get my port removed during that surgery as well, so I am happy about that.  I feel confident that that port will NEVER be needed again.   I will also need to go through a bunch of tests to complete "mapping" for radiation treatments, so that will be scheduled in the next few weeks.  After they are done mapping and defining a treatment plan, I will start radiation.  I have been told to expect 5.5 weeks of daily radiaiton.  It may be tweaked once they do their mapping, but will be around that time range.  The sooner I start radiation, the sooner I can finish!

The last few weeks, especially between the scans and tests and the results, were kind of hard on me. It was hard to end the routine of chemo treatments, to stop the medicine that I was comforted in knowing was killing cancer cells. I felt like there was something hanging over me. I felt like I was waiting for the other shoe to drop. As a person diagnosed with Stage 3 cancer, I spend a lot of time going over in my mind what warning signs I missed that could have lead me to discover this cancer earlier, before it was stage 3, and then I think Thank God I found it when I did, before it went farther than lymph nodes, to Stage 4, where it is managable, but never can you be declared "cancer free." It was really hard to wait for those results of the latest scans, because unlike before, when I was first diagnosed, I know a lot more now. When I was diagnosed, it was such a whirlwind of shock and doctor appointments. This time, I have read a lot, heard a lot and experienced a lot. I still have not fully wrapped my head around the good news of the scans showing no cancer. It is a relief, but I think it is still an unfolding relief. I find myself enjoying a situation and thinking "Thank God I am here to witness this and enjoy this" and then I realize that my scans and tests all looked good, there is no reason to think I won't be here to enjoy moments like this for a long time. I think that with each season that passes, I will feel more and more confident in my health remaining stable, and the doubts and worry will lessen. I see the oncologist again in three months, and by then I should be done with all my treatments and be close the last step, reconstruction.  

So, I am closing the door on chemo, and moving on to radiation.  I am getting closer to that finish line!  Thank you all for your support.  I know it has already been a long road, 10 months since diagnosis, but there is still a few more months to go.  Please continue to keep me and my family and caretakers in your prayers.  I know I thank God for my supporters every day.  I am just in awe of everyone's generosity and support. 

Thursday, February 17, 2011

Quick Update

A quick update to let you all know that all my scans and tests came back clean and clear.  No signs of cancer anywhere and I have been cleared to move on from chemo! 

I will have my port removed, have more doctor appointments (fun) and will have a small surgery within the next few weeks.  Then, I will begin radiation. I don't know the duration of the radiation yet, but will be somewhere between 5-8 weeks, is my guess.... (will know more after one of my fun doctor appointments next week)  After radiation, I will have one more surgery, and then treatment should be complete.  I will keep you all posted on my progress. 

In the meantime, thank you all for your prayers, positive vibes, good thoughts and support through this all.  I still have a ways to go, but the worst is OVER! 

God Bless! 
Kari

Sunday, February 13, 2011

Looking for a Fun Activity for President's Day?

My teacher freinds from Deerfield have organized a fun morning fundraiser for me on President's Day.  It is at Pump it Up in Glenview from 9-11 am.  Here is the info....  If any of you have the day off, it would be so fun to see you.  James and Katie are excited to be going too, as Pump it Up is one of their favorite places! 

here is the link:


http://smilebox.com/playEmail/4d6a49344e5463794f445a384e544d774d54597a4f54553d0d0a&sb=1

Friday, February 11, 2011

Update from Kari

Hi Everyone,

It has been a while so I need to give an update.  I completed my 27th round of chemo on January 27th and enjoyed walking out of the day hospital for the last time.  I made it through that weekend without too many side effects, just tireness.  The following Thursday I was looking forward to not having chemo, but I felt terrible.  I called the nurse and she said it will take at least three weeks for all the medicine to work its way out of my body, so I will continue to feel not so great for a few more weeks.  So, here it is two weeks later, and I still am very tired, have achy joints and bones, but each day it is getting better.  Yesterday I had a a CT Scan and a Bone Scan, as well as some bloodwork drawn for testing for further therapies.  On the 15th I will have a PET Scan and then my testing should be complete.  I am also trying to complete my visits to the plastic surgeon, get some info on nutrition for the dietician and a few other doctor appointments accomplished, so my "month off" has really turned into more appointments than I would had during chemo.  I have another appointment with the oncologist on the 17th, where I will find out all the results of my scans and plan my next steps.  I also have an appointment with the radiation oncologist during the last week of Feb.  See what I mean about the doctor appointments?!?

I also have been neglecting posting as this is somewhat of a "limbo" area and if you know me well, I don't like the land of uncertainty.  I crave a plan, an idea of what is to come, and a definate answer.  With cancer, there is none of that.  It is a little disheartening to me that doctors can create a plan of action, but a test result, an adverse reaction, or a change is research can knock that plan out.  I also have a doctor who is very good at what she does, but is not one who really wants to talk about the what ifs or next steps, until she is ready to dicuss those things, which again, is hard for me.  So, I don't know what will happen if test results show something, and if they are clean, I am not sure what the next step is, other than radiation, but I don't know how long or when it will start.  I also don't know what medications I will be taking, when those will start, and when my next two surgeries will be....

While I was excited to be done with chemo, it was also scary.  I thought I would feel relief and a feeling of completeness, like okay, closed that door and move on to the next step of treatment, but really I didn't.  I almost feel like chemo was the easy part in this process.  It is scary to know that nothing is working on killing cancer cells in my body now.  But, I have to remind myself that chemo for 27 weeks would have a very good chance of killing all the cancer cells that weren't removed in surgery, and radiation will get any holdouts.  Plus, the other thing that I realized is that if the cancer did return at a later date, that is not a death sentence.  The doctors would just treat the new cancer, and I would have a rough treatment time, probably go through chemo again, but if I did it once, I can do it again.  Furthermore, people can live for years, even with stage 4 cancer, and researchers are making strides every day, so if it did come back in 2-10 years, there is a good chance there will be a new way to fight it. 

I have also been trying to "live in the moment" more and just enjoy life and it's day to day simple pleasures.  I am trying to spend more time with the kids one on one, and trying to get back into the routine of things I did before I was diagnosed.  I have enjoyed some great moments with the kids lately. 

James and I have been playing a board game he really loves, working on art projects and reading books.  James is really starting to be a beginning reader and it is so much fun.  By the end of the summer I think he will be quite the reader.  He is getting better at his knock knock jokes too, and is such a good big brother when he wants to be.  He is creating some amazing things with his electronics kit, art supplies and has such a big imagination. 

I gave Katie a bath this week, in my big bath tub (which the kids love to use, although James loves the jets and Katie hates them) and I watched Katie give her baby a bath.  It was so cute and she mimics some of the things that Jay and I do when bathing her.  It was very fun to watch.  Today Katie and I went to the mall to buy a wedding present for the wedding we are going to tomorrow and Katie just enjoyed it so much.  We don't go to the mall a lot, anyone with little kids can answer why, and Katie had fun riding the escalator, looking at the pretty dishes, and then we took a spin around the shoe department.  While I was paying the the present, and constantly reminding her to not touch anything and just look with her pretty blue eyes, she noticed these floral dishes and she said to me, "Mommy, these are Mama Diane's dishes."  And sure enough, she pointed out the portmerion garden party dish set my mother has.  It is amazing the details she picks up on.  On the way out we wallked through cosmetics and Katie said, "Mommy, will you buy me a new lipstick.  I really need a new lipstick."  hee hee!  After the mall we went to the grocery store where Katie picked out some pretzels and told me she would like to call daddy and tell him I was buyng her some pretzels.  Where do these kids come up with this stuff? 

Just enjoying the day to day.  Looking forward to the wedding this weekend to have some time with my husband, anxiously awaiting test result apppointment on the 17th and thanking you all for your continued prayers, good thoughts and support. 

Wednesday, February 2, 2011

Blizzard...

Okay Folks,

The Blizzard of 2011 has come.  Here are some pictures from the day. 

We woke this morning to a ton of snow.  Here is James looking out of the the doors to our deck on the 4th floor.  You will note that the snow drifted up to his nose. 
This is what James saw out on our deck. 

My car was buried in the driveway.


Here are some shots of playing outside with the kids...